Would it be wise to use a holiday setting?

Denia 019

I’ve just been on holiday in Spain and I haven’t got a plot yet for a novel, but I can see where an idea might come because the hotel area was extensive and had room for a lot of possibilities.

Now that I’m thinking about it, I would be well-advised to write down a possible plot as I’ll find out later that my memory won’t capture the scenes as colourful as I do now. I would need to ask myself the following questions – Where would the body be found? Why would someone want to murder this person? Would the detective be staying at the hotel on holiday? Would he have opposition from the local police? Should the murderer be known to the reader?

As you can see I’ve already got the beginnings of a novel. My problem is that I’m writing another novel at the moment and I don’t want my thoughts interrupted and taken away from what I am doing. I know I can read two books at different times of the day and be interested in both of them equally, but to write two novels at the same time would be for one – lengthen the time spent on one of them and second – I might decide to write one and not the other, so it’s a no-win situation.

I’d be interested to know what you would do.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

