Should I lift my pen?

 

In my experience, when I have no idea what I’m going to write in the next chapter, I take it on faith that thoughts will come to me when I put pen to paper.

Because it has happened before, I trust that it will happen again. On saying that, I have a setting and perhaps two characters. It is their turn to present me with the next part of the story. And somehow the words flow from my brain through my pen and onto the paper like a magical occurrence. It is not planned and yet there it is – the next chapter.

Recently I read in ‘Finders Keepers’ by Stephen King, the following words –

  A good novelist does not lead his characters, he follows them.

A good novelist does not create events, he watches them happen and  writes down what he sees.

I find there is truth in these words.

 

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

