Should I give up?

I am depressed because I’m having difficulty finding new ways to wrap up my novel. I’m putting off lifting my pen because the ideas won’t come. I used to write 3000 to 4000 words per week. Now I can just manage 1000 words. Sometimes I’m amazed that I can still write and add something.

When you have written 52,000 words and you’re aiming for another 18,000, it doesn’t seem so many. But it’s tough! The end is where everything is pulled together, facts are drawn together to show reasons why they were in the story and the reader is shown the light.

If I give up, the characters’ pictures would be taken off my corkboard and there would be a space that would not be replenished. Those friends that I have lived with and cared about, would be gone forever. I doubt if I could start again.

As Sarah Wallace, I have written six crime e/books and published them on Amazon and obviously managed to complete. I have a habit of finishing anything I start. I guess this seventh novel is stretching me or is it telling me it’s time for a change.

I can’t not write. I guess I’m not the only person who has reached this point. Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

