Where do ideas come from?

While I’m waiting for a worthwhile idea for my next crime novel, I’m using my time to write short stories for Women’s Magazines.

Again ideas don’t present themselves on a plate for me to choose.

Recently I used my garden to write ‘Having Faith’. I wrote about wanting to be able grow and sell my vegetables from my drive.

Another idea was prompted when I showed my photograph album to my daughter. There was a photo of my family walking on the local beach, where  we had many memories. It struck me I could write and reflect on these memories with the idea that I could relate them to my grandchildren when they eventually arrived.

Lately, I was waiting for inspiration and my eyes launched on a water-colour painting I had pinned up on the wall beside my corkboard along with two others. It was the picture of a stile that one climbs over to get to the other side of a field. A memory of one similar I used to climb to get onto a hill, came to me and the beginning of a story presented itself. I named it ‘The Promise of Tomorrow’.

When I came home the other day from my painting activity, I pinned up my new painting – an acrylic painting of a rocky shore, cloudy sky and surf breaking over the rocks. Almost immediately I had the beginning of a story. The title might be ‘Troubled Times’. I’m still considering the outline and the ending. I guess you have to use whatever means to get those creative juices flowing.

I’m still pondering over my next novel. It’s got to feel right because once you start, it’s a long journey.

No-one knows where the next idea will come from. You just have to keep an open mind and use your eyes and ears and your sixth sense.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.