Is reality believable?

I found that if I had to tell all the facts about a situation, it would lose its appeal to the reader.

If the reason is to create a believable entertaining story, one must forget about the intricacies that would complicate the telling and pick out the main points that suit the storyline.

I hear you saying – but that distorts the facts. But to be truthful, it makes a better story.

I would like to elaborate, but I can’t because at this point in time, I have taken out bits to suit my new crime novel.

After all, where do we get our ideas? It’s either from our experience, somebody else’s or from something we have read. That’s how we keep in touch with our readers – it’s connected to reality.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment